ASP Awards

For more information, please contact AAIM Member Services at (703) 341-4540 or

Eric G. Neilson, MD, Leadership in Specialty Internal Medicine Award

About the Award

Named for the association’s founder, the ASP Eric G. Neilson, MD, Leadership in Specialty Internal Medicine Award recognizes a leader who has shaped the internal medicine specialties landscape. The award acknowledges and promotes the work of outstanding leaders who bring about change for specialty medicine and the internal medicine community.

In the spirit of ASP, the Neilson Award recognizes physicians in specialty internal medicine who have led their individual specialty or the entire specialty internal medicine community in one or more of he areas of education research administration, faculty career development, advocacy of internal medicine specialists.

The award is presented annually at Academic Internal Medicine Week and at a meeting of the recipient’s choice.

Nomination Criteria

Special emphasis will be placed on the candidate’s overall contributions to specialty internal medicine as well as the candidate’s involvement in ASP and support of ASP’s mission.

Nominations must be submitted online. Self-nominations are accepted for this award.

A nomination packet must include:

  • A completed nomination form.
  • One nomination letter.
  • Additional letters supporting the nomination. Please note, the committee will only consider three letters of support in addition to the first nominator’s letter.
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Selection Process

The recipient is selected by the ASP Council. All nominations will be considered for the year they are nominated as well as the following two years.

Past ASP Award Recipients

Distinguished Professor Award Recipients

Elaine A. Muchmore, MD2017
Elaine A. Muchmore, MD

ASP has awarded Elaine A. Muchmore, MD, the 2017 Eric G. Nielson, Distinguished Professor Award during Academic Internal Medicine Week 2017, held March 19-22 at the Baltimore Convention Center in Baltimore, MD. Dr. Muchmore was presented with her award during the ASP Awards Lunch and Plenary Session.

Named for the association’s founder, the ASP Nielson Award is presented annually to a physician who has shaped the specialty internal medicine landscape and been a leader in the field. In addition, the candidate’s role in assisting ASP achieve its mission is considered.

Dr. Muchmore is credited by her nominators as being “smart, politically savvy and a champion for diversity and inclusion, unafraid to fight the big battles when they need to be fought.” She is cited as a consummate educator with multiple teach of the year awards from her students, residents, and fellows. Her nominators describe her as someone who “has an uncanny ability to see all aspects of an issue and can speak to the stakeholders in their language, anticipating their needs, and building consensus, even if the groups are widely divergent in their thoughts initially.” Dr. Muchmore is also cited with “fighting struggles on behalf of learners as part of her leadership work within the American Society of Hematology (including her time as part of the ASP Council from 2006-2012), AAMC, and even as a member of the Residency Review Committee for Internal Medicine (RRC-IM) for the ACGME.”

Dr. Muchmore currently serves as chair of the Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine (AAIM) Resident to Fellow Interface Committee (RFIC). She has published more than 30 major journal articles in both hematology-oncology and medical education covering topics such as performance predictors for standardized testing, improving provider skills and patient experience within palliative medicine, and improving and creating new reporting standards in hematology-oncology for the National Academy of Sciences (NAS). Dr. Muchmore is also the 2013 recipient of the American College of Physicians (ACP) Laureate Award.

Dr. Muchmore is currently Professor of clinical medicine and Vice Chair for Education at University of California San Diego, where she has served on the faculty since 1987. She is also the Associate Chief of Staff for Education at the VA San Diego Healthcare System. Dr. Muchmore earned her Bachelor of Science degree in biology from Stanford University. She went on to earn her medical degree from University of California Davis School of Medicine, completed her residency in internal medicine at Virginia Mason Hospital, and a fellowship in hematology-oncology at University of California San Diego School of Medicine.