AAIM Physician-Scientist Initiative 

The AAIM Physician-Scientist Initiative seeks to identify, develop, and implement substantive and practical solutions that will ensure the survival, growth, and diversity of the physician-scientist workforce. This initiative which has been led by the AAIM Research Committee, has executed several activities centered on strategies to promote diversity and inclusion in the pathway, fostering intellectual curiosity, evaluating the trainee perspective, and addressing wellness and burnout. 

The AAIM Physician-Scientist Initiative directly supports initiative five of AAIM’s Strategic Plan which is charged with developing and disseminating best practices designed to ensure the expansion of opportunities for underrepresented faculty to be part of a physician-scientist workforce that is diverse, equitable and inclusive.

2024 Workshop

2024 American Society of Clinical Investigation (ASCI), Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine (AAIM) and the Borroughs Wellcome Fund (BWF) Research Pathway Directors Annual Workshop

Learn More


So You Want to Be a STaRR? 

Jatin Vyas, PhD
Program Director, Harvard Medical School Massachusetts General Hospital 

Kyu Rhee, MD, PhD
William Randolph Hearst Clinical Scholr in Micorbiology and Infectious Diseases, Weill Cornell Medicine

View recording

AAIM Research Committee Roster

Olujimi Ajijola, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine
David Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California, Los Angeles

Robert Baiocchi, MD, PhD
Ohio State University College of Medicine 

JoVonnda Chresfield
Senior Program Administrator
Baptist Health South Florida

Paul Conlin, MD
Chief, Medical Service; Maurice Strauss Chair and Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine

Emily Gallagher, MD, PhD
Associate Program Director for Research for Internal Medicine
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Isabella Grumbach, MD, PhD
Vice Chair for Research
University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine

Carlos Isales, MD
Division Chief
Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University

Barbara Kazmierczak, MD, PhD FIDSA
Program Director
Yale-New Haven Medical Center (Primary Care)

Christopher Kontos, MD, FAHA
Professor of Medicine, Director, Medical Scientist Training Program
Duke University School of Medicine

W. Kimryn Rathmell, MD, PhD
Chair of Department of Medicine
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Kyu Rhee, MD, PhD
Director, Medical Research Track
Weill Cornell Medicine

Don Rockey, MD
Medical University of South Carolina College of Medicine

Jatin Vyas, MD, PhD FIDSA, FACP (Vice Chair)
Program Director
Harvard Medical School Massachusetts General Hospital

Tammy Wichman, MD
Program Director 
University of Nebraska College of Medicine

Christopher Williams, MD, PhD (Chair)
Associate Dean, Physician Scientist Education and Training
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine


2018 AAIM Research Pathways Directors Workshop (March 18, 2018)

AAIM Residency Research Pathways Directors Summit (March 22–23, 2017)

Third Consensus Conference on the Physician-Investigator Workforce (November 12-13, 2015)

AAMC-APM Forum: "The Physician-Scientist Workforce: A Workshop for Clinical Faculty Leaders” (PDF) (October 31, 2008)